22nd State Level National Children's Science Congress - 2014


The inaugural ceremony of the National Children's Science Congress was held on the evening of the first day in the grand assembly hall of KiiT International School. It began with the lighting of the lamp by various dignitaries. It was graced by renowned guests like Noble Laureate Dr. Professor Ferid Murad, the founder of the school, Dr. Samantha and the chairperson, Dr. Mona Lisa Bal. It was followed up with a chorus by the senior girls of the institution accompanied by the teaching musicians. The chairperson gave a few words and requested the chief guest to do the same. Dr. Professor Murad was impressed with such a mammoth state level project hosted by the institution and gave a few words of encouragement to the budding scientist. Dr. Samantha in his speech commended the organizers and thanked the chief guest for taking time off from his busy schedule who came to KiiT University earlier in the day for the 10th Annual Convocation.

The organizing committee of the Science Congress comprised of :

  • Dr. R. N. Ray, Chairman, NCSC, Odisha.
  • Sunil Kumar Rath, Jt. Secretary, Coordinator, NCSC.

  • Dr. Pradip Mishra, Member, Executive Committee NCSC.

  • Smt. Saswati Bal

  • Dr. Mona Lisa Bal
  • Dr. B.B Mathur
  • Satyabrata Swain, Organizing Secretary, NCSC, Odisha.
Some very well known personalities that were invited to judge the Science Congress were :
Prof. Anadi C Das - a professor in Chemistry in Utkal University who is well known in Chemical Sciences and formerly at NISER, Bhubaneswar.
Prof. L.C. Padhy - Professor at KiiT School of Biotechnology and former scientist at TIFR, Mumbai.
Dr. Saroj Kumar Nayak - Professor and Head of School of Basic Sciences, IIT Bhubaneswar.
Prof. Uma Charan Mohanty - School of Earth, Ocean and Atmospheric Sciences, IIT Bhubaneswar and President of Odisha Bigyan Academy. Prof. Uma has won prestigious awards and honours like, Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize and Samanta Chandra Shekhar Award.
The inauguration was followed by a glamorous cultural show consisting of Folk Dance and Music by the participating schools.